Thankful

It’s been a difficult year for me, and it’s not looking good for the next year. Nonetheless, in the spirit of the holiday, I am listing ten things that I’m grateful for.

  1. I am fortunate to be able to stay with my family this holiday season. It’s the first time I’ve been home for Thanksgiving for nearly a decade.
  2. I had the great fortune to be raised in a loving home. My parents encouraged me to study hard, yet gave me the freedom to be who I wanted to be.
  3. I had a great time in the summer in Shanghai, despite the heat. I met with so many great people and had lots of great conversations over dinners.
  4. I met many of my relatives this year, many of whom it’s difficult to meet, since they live so far away.
  5. I came back from my postdoc in Shanghai safely.
  6. I made some friends during my time in Shanghai.
  7. I live in relative peace and safety without risk of violence or crime.
  8. Access to the Internet makes me feel connected to the rest of the world.
  9. There are many things worth studying and exploring.
  10. I live in an active democracy, where there are checks on the powers of every level of government with a citizenry ready to defend its country in a peaceful manner.

I hope you all have had a great day.

About minimalrho
Unemployed guy with a PhD in math.

Leave a Reply

