The Future of this Blog

Casey Neistat ended his vlog today. I’m a fan of his work, and while I’ll miss the daily vlogs, I look forward to whatever new projects he puts out. But what interested me the most was his reasons. Contrary to the thought that vlogging every day would be difficult, it seems that rather than encouraging innovation, the vlogs became habitual.

I couldn’t help but make comparisons with my blog and a similar project. Of course, it’s presumptuous to compare my tiny blog to a YouTube channel with more than 8 million subscribers. But this too was a project to force myself to be more creative and to actually produce something (maybe not stunning videos, but something). And the small scope and audience of this blog make me wonder what I’m trying to accomplish with this blog. Of course, the size of my audience doesn’t matter if my purpose doesn’t require a large audience. But my purpose will reflect my hopes and goals for this blog.

I’m afraid I don’t have any answers to this question. While I won’t stop blogging now, I find myself needing to reflect on what the future holds for this blog, and if the lack of purpose is the reason for the previous lack of motivation to post.

About minimalrho
Unemployed guy with a PhD in math.

Leave a Reply

